Cyngor Tref CONWY Town Council
Cyngor Tref CONWY Town Council
Newyddion Cyngor

01492 596254


LL32 8LD








Bookmark and Share

Gefeillyd a Landerne, Llydaw


(Saesneg yn unig)

Tribute of Condolence
Mrs E. M. Pattinson OBE – Honorary Burgess, Past Mayor of Conwy and Constable of the Castle.

Betty Pattinson OBE became Honorary Burgess of Conwy after over 21 years’ service to the Town Council. The award given to her by the late Marquis of Anglesey. Betty was made Mayor of Conwy & Constable of the Castle in 1976 & 1989 and was also Mayor of Aberconwy.

In the early 70's she was instrumental in setting up Conwy Town Council and its establishment in the Guildhall. She ensured that the Mayor of Conwy (rather than the Authority Mayor) should be the Constable of the Castle, which after reorganisation could have been in doubt.

Betty wrote two books (she may have written more) called 'The Spirit of Conwy' Parts 1 and 2, 'The 20th Century in Photographs". Betty did have plans for a third but was frustrated that her fingers were sadly no longer able to keep up with her energies for the new volume.

Betty was a major collector of Warren Williams paintings, but also had a great interest in paintings of Conwy. She was an archivist and historian of all matters pertaining to Conwy, Betty had so much knowledge about the past and was always happy to share her knowledge.

Betty was very instrumental in laying the stone on the Morfa celebrating the work of Lorys Hughes and the building of parts of the Mulberry Harbour. Betty kept the Town Council traditions alive.

Betty's achievements were many, not least for the older residents, she, with Huw Pritchard retired Headmaster of Aberconwy School and Carol Tamblyn a community Social Worker saw the need for a social facility for senior people in Conwy. Out of this initial concept in 1978 Clwb Yr Efail was founded in Berry Street. This enduring club has celebrated its fortieth year and goes from strength to strength thanks to Betty's visionary ideas of what could be done.

Betty was a much admired member of our Town Council for many years and will be sorely missed.

(Saesneg yn unig)


(Closing date 30th June 2019)

Am fwy o wybodaeth - cliciwch yma

Os nad ydych yn gallu dod o hyd i’r wybodaeth yr ydych ei hangen, yna cysylltwch â ni - cliciwch yma
© 2019 Cyngor Tref CONWY Town Council
Cyngor Tref CONWY Town Council, Guildhall, Rose Hill Street, Conwy. LL32 8LD
Ffôn: 01492 596254; E-bost:
Oriau Swyddfa: 9yb i 1yh, Dydd Llun i Ddydd Gwener (gan eithrio Gŵyl y Banc)

Gwefan gan Delwedd

Print Page Bookmark Page E-mail us at Tell a friend Contact Us